## EAST DORSET DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of the Meeting held on 12th May, 2008 at 7.30 p.m.

#### Present:-

Councillor R. C. Dudman - Chairman Councillor Mrs P. A. Reynolds- Vice-Chairman

Present: Councillors P. G.

Councillors P. G. Bennett, M. C. Birr, D. B. F. Burt, Mrs L. J. Clark, A. A. J. Clarke, Mrs Q. N. D. Comfort, Mrs T. B. Coombs, P. G. Cuckston, R. E. Daw, Mrs J. Dover, M. R. Dyer, Mrs G. S. Elliot, S. G. Flower, Mrs J. M. Hazel, S. C. Hearn, Mrs A. Holland, J. P. Holland, J. E. Little, Mrs B. E. Manuel, D. Morgan, B. E. Mortimer, Mrs M. B. Osner, D. G. L. Packer, T. J. Palmer, P. W. Richardson, G. W. Russell, M. G. Simper, N. Smith, S. S. Tong, D. J.

Wallace and Mrs A. Warman.

Also in attendance:

Mr D.W. Atkinson (Independent)

## 1. <u>Prayers</u>

Prayers were led by the Reverend John Goodall of St Michael's, Colehill.

## 2. Election of Chairman

Before seeking nominations for the Chairman of Council for the 2008/2009 Municipal Year, Councillor Mrs Barbara Manuel thanked the Members and Officers for their support during her year in office and help in raising £3,275 for her nominated charity the Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance.

The nomination of Councillor R. C. Dudman was moved by Councillor Mrs A. Warman and seconded by Councillor Mrs Q. N. D. Comfort.

## RESOLVED that Councillor Ray Dudman be elected Chairman of the Council for the 2007/2008 Municipal Year.

Councillor R. C. Dudman signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

Voting: Nem. Con. (9 Abstentions)

## 3. Election of Vice-Chairman

The nomination of Councillor Mrs P. A. Reynolds was moved by Councillor M. R. Dyer and seconded by Councillor S. G. Flower.

## RESOLVED that Councillor Mrs P. A. Reynolds be elected Vice-Chairman of the Council for the 2007/2008 Municipal Year.

Councillor Mrs P. A. Reynolds signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

Voting: Nem. Con. (9 Abstentions)

## 4. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors D. J. Cozier, P. Holden and Mrs P. A. Hymers.

#### 5. Chairman's Announcements

The Chairman of the Council. Councillor R. C. Dudman thanked Councillor Mrs B. T. Manuel for her services to the Council as the Chairman for 2007/2008 and presented her with her Past-Chairman's Badge.

The Council were informed that the Chairman's chosen charity for the year would be the Jigsaw Cancer Charity.

#### 6. Minutes

The Minutes of the meeting held on 21st April, 2008 were confirmed and signed as a correct record.

#### **DELEGATED BUSINESS**

## 7. Allocation of Seats to Political Groups

The Chief Executive submitted a report, a copy of which had been circulated to each Member and a copy of which appears as Appendix 'A' to these Minutes in the Minute Book.

The Council were requested to determine the size and allocation of seats to political groups and to approve the arrangements made for the appointment of Members to Committees and Sub-Committees.

#### **RESOLVED that:-**

- (a) the number of seats on the Committees and Sub-Committees for the 2008/2009 Municipal year be approved as detailed in the report with the Grants Sub-Committee being increased from 6 members to 7 members:
- (b) the arrangements to allocate the total number of seats on all Committees and Sub-Committees other than by political balance, be approved.

Voting: Nem. Con. (1 Abstention)

#### 8. Appointment to Committees for 2008/09

The Chief Executive submitted a report, a copy of which had been circulated to each Member and a copy of which appears as Appendix 'B' to these Minutes in the Minute Book.

Members were requested to approve the schedule of Committee Memberships for the 2008/2009 Municipal Year.

RESOLVED that the Membership of the various Committees, as submitted be adopted.

Voting: Nem. Con. (1 Abstention)

## 9. Appointment of Independent Members to the Standards Committee

The Chief Executive submitted a report, a copy of which had been circulated to each Member and a copy of which appears as Appendix 'C' to

these Minutes in the Minute Book.

Members considered the appointment of an applicant to the position of an Independent Member to the Standards Committee.

RESOLVED that the Honourable Geoffrey Beck be appointed to serve as an Independent Member of the Standards Committee for a four year term of office.

Voting: 21:4 (7 Abstentions)

## 10. Appointment of the Leader of the Council for 2008/09

The nomination of Councillor S. G. Flower was moved by Councillor A. A. J. Clarke and seconded by Councillor P. W. Richardson.

RESOLVED that Councillor S. G. Flower be appointed Leader of the Council for the 2008/2009 Municipal Year.

Voting: Nem. Con. (9 Abstentions)

## 11. Appointment of the Deputy Leader of the Council for 2008/09

The nomination of Councillor A. A. J. Clarke was moved by Councillor D. G. L. Packer and seconded by Councillor Mrs T. B. Coombs.

RESOLVED that Councillor A. A. J. Clarke be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for the 2008/2009 Municipal Year.

Voting: Nem. Con. (9 Abstentions)

#### 12. Appointment of Members to Outside Bodies

The Chief Executive submitted a report, a copy of which had been circulated to each Member and a copy of which appears as Appendix 'D' to these Minutes in the Minute Book.

Members were requested to make appointments to the Council's Outside Bodies.

RESOLVED that subject to the following amendments being incorporated, the Membership to Outside Bodies for the period to May 2008, as submitted be adopted;

- (a) the representatives on the Dorset Waste Forum be amended to Councillor M. R. Dyer with Councillor M. G. Simper as the Deputy;
- (b) the Verwood Hub Community Association be amended to Councillor B. E. Mortimer and Councillor Mrs J. M. Hazel; and
- (c) the addition of Councillor G. W. Russell as the deputy representative for Wessex Water.

Voting: 23:9

#### 13. Strategic Theme Areas for Lead Members 2008/2009

RESOLVED that the Strategic Theme Areas for 2008/2009, as set out below be approved:

Community

# EAST DORSET DISTRICT COUNCIL 12th May, 2008

Culture
Environment
Health and Housing
Performance
Resources

Voting: Nem. Con. (9 Abstentions)

The meeting ended at 8.25 p.m.

**CHAIRMAN**