





# Draw procedures for the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup Dominican Republic 2024™

The Draw for the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup Dominican Republic 2024™, scheduled to be held in Santo Domingo, the Dominican Republic, in June 2024, will determine how the 16 qualified teams will be divided into four groups of four teams each for the final competition.

The information below sets out the procedures for the draw.

#### 1. SLOT ALLOCATION

The final slot allocation per confederation was approved by the FIFA Council as follows:

CONFEDERATION	NUMBER OF TEAMS	QUALIFIED TEAMS	
AFC	3	Korea DPR, Japan, Korea Republic	
CAF	3	Kenya, Nigeria, Zambia	
Concacaf (including host)	3	USA, Mexico, Dominican Republic (host)	
CONMEBOL	3	Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador	
OFC	1	New Zealand	
UEFA	3	Spain, England, Poland	

## 2. SEEDING AND POT ALLOCATION

The 16 qualified teams will be allocated to four pots of four teams each, based on a ranking system created according to past sporting performance.

The ranking system is based on the total number of points obtained in the last five editions of the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup™ (three points for a win, one point for a draw, no points for a defeat), namely those held in 2022, 2018, 2016, 2014 and 2012.

The greatest importance will be given to results from the most recent edition of the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup, followed by results in previous editions. In that regard, the ranking points earned in each edition will be progressively attributed less weight, as follows:



1. 2022: 100% of total ranking points

2. 2018: 80% of total ranking points

3. 2016: 60% of total ranking points

4. 2014: 40% of total ranking points

5. 2012: 20% of total ranking points

The ranking points will be calculated as follows:

3 points	1 point	0 points
for a <b>win</b> after	for a <mark>draw</mark> after	for a <b>defeat</b> after
regular time	regular time	regular time
for a <b>win</b> after	for a <b>win</b> after	for a <b>defeat</b> after
extra time	penalty shoot-out	extra time
	for a <b>defeat</b> after	
	penalty shoot-out	

In addition, five bonus points will be awarded to each of the current champions of each confederation's relevant qualifying tournament for the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup.

In the event that two or more teams are level on ranking points and require a "tiebreaker" to set them apart – especially when this impacts the pot to which they will be allocated – the deciding ranking factor will revert to:

- (a) the ranking point result from the most recent edition of the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup;
- (b) the ranking point result from the next most recent edition of the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup until a ranking priority can be established;
- (c) the ranking point result for the whole of the respective confederation from the most recent edition of the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup until a ranking priority can be established;
- (d) the drawing of lots between the teams that remain level on ranking points.

Based on the above ranking, the top three teams, along with the host country, the Dominican Republic, will be allocated to pot 1, and the next four teams to pot 2, and so on.



Pot 1	Pot 2	Pot 3	Pot 4
Dominican Republic	USA	Nigeria	Korea Republic
Spain	Brazil	Colombia	Poland
Japan	Mexico	England	Ecuador
Korea DPR	New Zealand	Zambia	Kenya

### 3. DRAW PROCEDURE

- The four pots representing the teams will be labelled pots 1 to 4. Each of these team pots will contain four balls representing the four teams from the respective pot.
- The four pots representing the groups will be labelled groups A to D. In each group pot, there will be four balls with the position numbers 1, 2, 3 and 4 of each respective group.
- The draw will start with team pot 1 and ends with pot 4. Each team pot will be completely emptied before moving on to the next pot.
- A ball will be drawn from a team pot, followed by a ball from one of the group pots, thus determining the position to which the respective team is allocated.

## 4. DRAW CONSTRAINTS

- In pot 1, as the host country, Dominican Republic will be represented by a different coloured ball and preassigned position A1.
- The remaining three top-seeded teams in pot 1 will automatically be drawn into position 1 of each remaining group (in order, from group B to D); each position 1 ball will also be a different colour to those in the pot.
- FIFA's general principle is to ensure that no group has more than one team from the same qualification zone / confederation drawn into it.