## **Taunton Deane Borough Council**

At the Annual meeting of Taunton Deane Borough Council, held at the Queen's Hall, Queens College, Trull Road, Taunton on Thursday 13 May 2010 at 6.30 pm.

# **Present** The Mayor (Councillor Bowrah)

The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Horsley)
Councillors Mrs Allgrove, Beaven, Bishop, Brooks, Cavill, Coles,
Mrs Copley, Ms Court, Mrs Court-Stenning, Critchard, Denington,
D Durdan, Ms Durdan, Edwards, Farbahi, Mrs Floyd, Gaines, Govier,
Guerrier, Hall, Hayward, Henley, Ms Herbert, C Hill, Mrs Hill, House,
Miss James, R Lees, Mrs Lees, Mrs Lewin-Harris, McMahon, Meikle,
Morrell, Mullins, Murphy, O'Brien, Paul, Prior-Sankey, Slattery,
Mrs Smith, P Smith, Mrs Stock-Williams, Stone, Swaine, Thorne,
Watson, Mrs Waymouth, Ms Webber, A Wedderkopp, D Wedderkopp,
Mrs Whitmarsh, Williams and Mrs Wilson.

# 1. Prayers

The meeting was opened with prayers offered by the Mayor's Chaplain, The Reverend James Clapham.

## 2. **Election of Mayor**

On the motion of Councillor Meikle, seconded by Councillor Farbahi, it was **resolved** unanimously that Councillor Jefferson Andrew Horsley be elected Mayor of Taunton Deane for the ensuing year. Councillor Horsley made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office.

## 3. **Deputy Mayor**

On the motion of Councillor Henley, seconded by Councillor Slattery, it was **resolved** that Councillor Steve Brooks be elected as Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year. Councillor Brooks made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office.

#### 4. Councillor Robert Bowrah BEM

On the motion of Councillor Williams, seconded by Councillor Mrs Allgrove, it was **resolved** that the best thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor Robert Bowrah BEM for the manner in which he had discharged the duties of the Office of Mayor during his term of office.

Councillor Bowrah replied.

### 5. Past Mayor's Badge

The Mayor presented Councillor Bowrah with his past Mayor's badge.

#### 6. Minutes

The minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 13 April 2010, copies having been circulated to each Member, were signed by the Mayor.

## 7. Apology

Councillor Stuart-Thorn.

#### 8. Election of Leader 2010/2011

The Mayor invited nominations from the Council for the election of Leader for the 2010/2011 Municipal Year.

Councillor Henley was proposed by Councillor A Wedderkopp, seconded by Councillor Mullins.

Councillor Williams was proposed by Councillor Denington, seconded by Councillor Mrs Court-Stenning.

Councillor A Wedderkopp, seconded by Councillor Mullins, requested that a formal roll call of votes be taken and recorded in the Minutes in accordance with Standing Order 18(2). The request was supported by the votes of at least a quarter of the Councillors present.

Twenty seven Councillors voted in favour of Councillor Henley, whilst twenty eight Councillors voted for Councillor Williams, as follows:-

Henley	Williams
Councillor Brooks	Councillor Mrs Allgrove
Councillor Coles	Councillor Beaven
Councillor Mrs Copley	Councillor Bishop
Councillor Ms Court	Councillor Bowrah
Councillor Critchard	Councillor Cavill
Councillor Farbahi	Councillor Mrs Court-Stenning
Councillor Mrs Floyd	Councillor Denington
Councillor Gaines	Councillor D Durdan
Councillor Govier	Councillor Ms Durdan
Councillor Henley	Councillor Edwards
Councillor Mrs Hill	Councillor Guerrier
The Mayor (Councillor Horsley)	Councillor Hall
Councillor Miss James	Councillor Hayward
Councillor R Lees	Councillor Ms Herbert
Councillor Mrs Lees	Councillor C Hill
Councillor Mullins	Councillor House
Councillor Murphy	Councillor Mrs Lewin-Harris
Councillor Paul	Councillor McMahon
Councillor Prior-Sankey	Councillor Meikle
Councillor Slattery	Councillor Morrell
Councillor Mrs Smith	Councillor O'Brien

Councillor P Smith Councillor Mrs Stock-Williams

Councillor Stone Councillor Thorne
Councillor Swaine Councillor Watson

Councillor A Wedderkopp Councillor Mrs Waymouth
Councillor D Wedderkopp Councillor Mrs Wilson Councillor Mrs Whitmarsh

**Councillor Williams** 

**Resolved** that Councillor Williams be elected as Leader of the Executive for the ensuing year.

## 9. Appointment of the Executive 2010/2011

**Resolved** that membership of the Executive would continue to comprise 9 Members for the ensuing year.

## 10. Appointment of the Corporate Scrutiny Committee

The appointment of a Corporate Scrutiny Committee for the ensuing year was agreed as follows:-

13 Members, 6 Conservatives, 6 Liberal Democrats, 1 Independent.

### 11. Appointment of the Community Scrutiny Committee

The appointment of a Community Scrutiny Committee for the ensuing year was agreed as follows:-

13 Members, 6 Conservatives, 6 Liberal Democrats, 1 Independent.

(Note: The Chairmanship and Vice-Chairmanship of both of the Scrutiny Committees would be by Members who were not part of the controlling administration).

## 12. Appointment of Regulatory Committees and Boards

- (a) The appointment of a Planning Committee for the ensuing year was agreed as follows:-
  - 18 Members, 8 Conservatives, 9 Liberal Democrats, 1 Independent.
- (b) The appointment of a Licensing Committee for the ensuing year was agreed as follows:-
  - 15 Members, 7 Conservatives, 7 Liberal Democrats, 1 Independent.
- (c) The appointment of a Corporate Governance Committee for the ensuing year was agreed as follows:-

- 11 Members, 4 Conservatives, 5 Liberal Democrats, 1 Labour and 1 Independent.
- (d) The appointment of a Staffing Board for the ensuing year was agreed with membership being selected on a proportional basis, from a pool of Councillors.

### 13. Standards Committee 2010/2011

The appointment of a Standards Committee for the ensuing year was agreed, with membership to consist of 7 independent members of the public (Mrs A Elder, Mr A Cottrell, Mr R Macey, Mr P Malim OBE, Mr W L Rogers, Mr M Stanbury and Mr R Symons), 3 Councillors (1 from each group) and 3 Parish Members (Mr M Marshall, Mr B Wilson and one vacancy) from whom Panels would be selected when necessary.

#### 14. Reflections

The meeting was closed at 8.38 pm with a number of reflections offered by Mr Martin Wall, a member of the Society of Friends.