COUNCIL

8 May 2008

Present: The Mayor (John Rawson), Councillors Barnes, Bishop, Britter,

Buckland, Cooper, Driver, Dunne, Fisher, Fletcher, Flynn, Franklin, Garnham, Godwin, D Hall, P Hall, Hay, Hibbert, Holliday, Hutton, Jordan, MacDonald, Massey, McKinlay, H.McClain, P.McLain, Morris, Regan, Ryder, Seacome, Smith, Stennett, Sudbury, Surgenor,

Thornton, Wall, Webster, Wheeldon, Wheeler and Whyborn.

Apologies: None

(4 pm - 4.20 pm)

At the start of the meeting the Mayor welcomed the Councillors who had retained their seats in the local elections and also to the new Councillors.

1 Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were made.

2 Appointment of the Leader of the Council

Councillor Webster proposed Councillor Jordan as Leader of the Council and this was seconded by Councillor McKinlay.

Upon a vote being taken the proposal was CARRIED

Voting For 18
Against nil
Abstentions 20

The Mayor invited the new Leader of the Council to address the meeting. The Leader expressed his thanks to Councillor Smith and his colleagues for their hard work as Cabinet members. He indicated that as the new administration they considered it was important that the authority of Council was recognized and they intended to let Council have their say on key issues.

Councillor Jordan then informed Council that his Cabinet Members would be Councillors Hay, Massey, McKinlay, Morris, Rawson and Webster. An amended version of part 3B of the Constitution was circulated to members which detailed the Leader's scheme of delegation for executive functions. He advised that Councillor Rawson would not be taking up his new delegated powers until he had completed his mayoral year on the 19 May 2008.

The monitoring officer reminded Council that the officer delegations still apply.

Resolved 1. That Councillor Jordan be appointed Leader of the Council

That the membership of the Cabinet as set out be noted.

3 Appointment of Committees

A copy of the nominations for committees, including substitutes, advised by the group leaders had been circulated to members at the start of the meeting.

In addition Council were asked to appoint Duncan Chittenden as the new independent member of the Standards Committee and Barrie Lewis and Gloria Coleman as the new parish council member and their deputy respectively.

Councillor Godwin indicated that the PAB would be happy not to have a seat on the Audit Committee or Licensing Committee however he proposed that the membership of the Planning Committee should be increased to 15 members to allow both himself and Councillor Stennett to have a seat on the committee. This was seconded by Councillor Fletcher who said that both members had made a valuable contribution to the committee.

Upon a vote this was agreed unanimously.

Upon a vote on the committee nominations as amended, this was agreed unanimously

Resolved that the membership of the following committees be as indicated in appendix 1.

4. Appointment of Chairman and Vice-Chairman to Overview and Scrutiny Committees

The mayor invited nominations for chairman and vice-chairman to overview and scrutiny committees. The following nominations were made;

O&S	Chairman	Proposed by	Seconded by
committee			
EBI	Councillor	Councillor	Councillor Holliday
	Stennett	Smith	
Social and	Councillor	Councillor	Councillor Webster
community	Smith	Ryder	
Environment	Councillor	Councillor	Councillor Morris
	Garnham	Regan	
	Vice-chairman		
	Councillor	Councillor	Councillor Webster
EBI	Hutton	Fletcher	
Social and	Councillor	Councillor	Councillor Hay
Community	Dunne	Jordan	
Environment	Councillor	Councillor	Councillor Dunne
	Britter	Jordan	

Upon a vote these were all agreed unanimously with the exception of the vice chair of the Social and Community Overview and Scrutiny Committee where there was one vote against.

5. Gloucestershire County Council NHS Overview and Scrutiny Committee
The Mayor invited nominations to this committee. Councillor Smith nominated
Councillor Penny Hall and this was seconded by Councillor Franklin. Upon a
vote this was agreed unanimously. Councillor Franklin was appointed as a
substitute.

6. Consequential changes to the Constitution

Resolved That the Monitoring Officer be authorised to make

consequential changes to the constitution arising from

decisions taken at the meeting.

Councillor John Rawson Mayor

PLANNING COMMITTEE

8 May 2008

Present: All members of the planning committee appointed at selection Council

but excluding substitutes.

Apologies: none

1 Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were made.

2 Appointment of Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Committee

The Chief Executive took the chair and invited nominations for chairman. Councillor Surgenor was nominated by Councillor Morris and upon a vote this was carried unanimously.

The chair then invited nominations for vice-chairman. Councillor Fletcher was nominated by Councillor Surgenor and upon a vote this was carried unanimously.

OTHER COMMITTEES

In similar meetings for other committees the following chairman and vice-chairman were appointed unanimously.

Licensing Committee

Chair – Cllr Diggory Seacome Vice Chair – Cllr Tina Franklin

Audit Committee

Chair - Cllr Andrew Wall Vice Chair - Wendy Flynn

Staff & Support Services Committee

Chair – Cllr Steve Jordan Vice Chair – Cllr Stuart Hutton

Staff & Support Services Committee – appointment sub-committee for recruitment of the assistant director customer access and service transformation.

The following councillors were appointed; Smith, Hay, Jordan, Franklin, Godwin and D. Hall was appointed a substitute.

JNC

Chair - Cllr John Webster Vice Chair - Cllr Diggory Seacome

Investment Panel

Chair – Cllr Paul McLain Vice Chair – John Rawson