PRESENT: The Mayor - Councillor Christopher Rochester; The Deputy Mayor - Councillor Beryl Baxter; Councillors Ron Whittaker, Ben Grower, Philip Stanley-Watts, Anne Rey, Stephen Chappell, Michael Filer, Malcolm Davies, Anne Filer, Roger West, John Beesley, Barry Goldbart, Sue Levell, Lynda Price, Nick King, John Trickett, David Kelsey, Eddie Coope, Carol Ainge, Mark Anderson, Rod Cooper, Nicola Greene, Beverley Dunlop, Ian Lancashire, Michael Weinhonig, Derek Borthwick, Bob Lawton, Allister Russell, Andrew Morgan, Chris Wakefield, Cheryl Johnson, Dennis Gritt, Chris Mayne, Rae Stollard, Mike Greene, John Wilson, Amedeo Angiolini, Mark Battistini, Theo Stratton, Roger Marley, Susan Phillips, Jane Kelly, Blair Crawford.

The meeting started at 7pm

#### 16. Declarations of Interest

The Chief Executive reported that there were no disclosures of personal interests from councillors.

## 17. Public Questions

It was noted that no public questions had been received for this meeting.

## 18. Deputations

It was noted that no deputation requests had been received for this meeting.

#### 19. Presentation of Petitions

It was noted that there were no petitions for presentation at this meeting.

#### 20. Nomination Board 21 February 2012

The report of the Nomination Board held on 21 February 2012 was presented and its adoption moved.

### Clause 1 - Appointment of Leader of the Council

Councillor John Beesley, as the nominee for the position of Leader of the Council and Chair of the Cabinet, made a statement on his strategy for budget management in the coming year.

#### **DECISION MADE:**

The report of the Nomination Board is adopted.

NOTE: Councillor John Beesley, as Leader of the Council, then announced that it is his intention to make a statement at the ordinary meeting of the Council on Tuesday 28 February 2012 as to the appointment of the Deputy Leader of the Council and the other members of the Cabinet. Pending that statement, the existing membership of the Cabinet remains in place.

In addition Councillor Beesley stated that he had agreed his scheme of executive delegations. A copy of the scheme will be circulated to all Members of the Council and published on the Council's web site.

## 21. Special Cabinet 15 February 2012

The report of the Special Cabinet held on 15 February 2012 was presented and its adoption moved.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor John Beesley, then made a statement on the proposed budget and Council Tax for 2012/13.

#### Clause 33 - Housing Revenue Account 2012/13

Councillor Ben Grower moved and Councillor Dennis Gritt seconded:

'To disagree and substitute '5.6%' in place of '6.99%' in paragraph 2."

The motion was not carried - 8 in favour, 35 against and 1 not voting.

**Voting for:** The Deputy Mayor - Councillor Beryl Baxter; Councillors Ron Whittaker, Ben Grower, Anne Rey, Roger West, Sue Levell, Carol Ainge, Dennis Gritt.

Voting against: Councillors Philip Stanley-Watts, Stephen Chappell, Michael Filer, Malcolm Davies, Anne Filer, John Beesley, Barry Goldbart, Lynda Price, Nick King, John Trickett, David Kelsey, Eddie Coope, Mark Anderson, Rod Cooper, Nicola Greene, Beverley Dunlop, Ian Lancashire, Michael Weinhonig, Derek Borthwick, Bob Lawton, Allister Russell, Andrew Morgan, Chris Wakefield, Cheryl Johnson,

Chris Mayne, Rae Stollard, Mike Greene, John Wilson, Amedeo Angiolini, Mark Battistini, Theo Stratton, Roger Marley, Susan Phillips, Jane Kelly, Blair Crawford.

Not Voting: The Mayor - Councillor Christopher Rochester.

#### **DECISION MADE:**

The report as presented is adopted.

## 22. Appointment Panel 20 January 2012

The report of the Appointment Panel held on 20 January 2012 was presented and its adoption moved.

The Leader of the Council, with the permission of the Council, changed recommendation 2 by the deletion of the word 'Deputy' in the third sentence.

#### **DECISION MADE:**

The report as amended is adopted.

## 23. COUNCIL TAX 2012/13

The Council considered a report of the Executive Director for Finance and Business Improvement concerning the Council Tax for 2012/13.

Councillor John Beesley moved and Councillor Nicola Greene seconded that the following Council tax resolution be adopted:

- 1. The Council Tax Base for 2012/13 for the whole Council area is 64,538 Item T in the formula in Section 31B of the Local Government Finance Act 1992, as amended the 'Act' as recommended by Cabinet at its meeting on 16 November 2011.
- 2. The Council Tax requirement for the Council's own purposes for 2012/13 is £81,207,520.02 Item R in the formula in Section 31B of the Act.
- 3. To note that the Police Authority and the Fire Authority have issued precepts to the Council in accordance with Section 40 of the Local Government Finance Act 1992 for each category of dwellings in the Council's area as indicated in the table below.

4. That the Council, in accordance with Sections 30 and 36 of the Local Government Finance Act 1992, hereby sets the aggregate amounts shown in the tables below as the amounts of Council Tax for 2012/13 for each part of its area and for each of the categories of dwellings.

#### **Valuation Bands**

## Bournemouth Borough Council

A*	A	В	С	D	E	F	G	Н
699.05	838.86	978.67	1,118.48	1,258.29	1,537.91	1,817.53	2,097.15	2,516.58

## **Dorset Police Authority**

A*	А	В	С	D	E	F	G	Н
100.00	120.00	140.00	160.00	180.00	220.00	260.00	300.00	360.00

#### **Dorset Fire Authority**

A*	Α	В	С	D	E	F	G	Н
33.55	40.26	46.97	53.68	60.39	73.81	87.23	100.65	120.78

## Aggregate of Council Tax Requirements

A*	Α	В	С	D	E	F	G	Н
832.60	999.12	1,165.64	1,332.16	1,498.68	1,831.72	2,164.76	2,497.80	2,997.36

5. The Council has a duty, set out within the Local Government Finance Act 1992 Section 52ZB, to determine whether the basic amount of Council Tax for 2012/13 is excessive or not. The limit on Council Tax increases for unitary authorities for 2012/13 is 3.5%, and for Police and Fire Authorities 4%. As no precepting authority has exceeded these limits in the proposed Council Tax levels for 2012/13 the Council resolves that there is no excessive increase in Council Tax for 2012/13.

#### **DECISION MADE:**

The Council Tax resolution as presented is adopted.

## 24. Questions on Decisions Taken Under Delegated Powers

It was noted that there were no questions for this meeting.

Councillor Susan Phillips arrived at 7.05pm

The meeting finished at 7.38 pm

Contact: Kevin Neale, Democratic Services Manager

Telephone 01202 454689

Email: Kevin.neale@bournemouth.gov.uk

Please note that the next meeting of the Council will take place at the Town Hall at 7pm on 28 February 2012.

It is recommended that you double-check this information with Kevin Neale nearer the scheduled date of the next meeting in case the arrangements have changed.