

Jurmala Declaration

The Foreign Ministers and high-level representatives of Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia, Sweden and the European Union met in Jurmala, Latvia on 3 June 2019.

The Foreign Ministers and high-level representatives affirmed the role of the Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS) as a platform uniquely suited to add value to the development of the Baltic Sea Region, through intergovernmental dialogue and practical cooperation between all countries in the region, by fostering mutual understanding, building trust, ensuring stability and promoting people to people contacts.

In the context of the three CBSS long-term priorities the Foreign Ministers and high-level representatives recognised the achievements in the areas of sustainable development, climate change, civil protection, fight against trafficking in human beings and organised crime, child protection, gender equality as well as sustainable maritime economy, labour and employment, science and research, education, cultural heritage and youth involvement.

They welcomed continuation of the CBSS Project Support Facility for the next financing period of 2020-2022 as an instrument for the implementation of the CBSS priorities.

The Foreign Ministers and high-level representatives endorsed the Roadmap of the CBSS reforms 2018-2020 and requested the CSO to conclude the implementation of the document by the end of the Danish Presidency in 2020. The Roadmap enables the necessary flexibility of the Council, higher adaptability, preparedness and effectiveness of the CBSS, increases the focus on synergies between cooperation formats in the Baltic Sea Region and, furthermore, promotes the facilitating role of the CBSS in this regard.

The Foreign Ministers and high-level representatives expressed their gratitude to Latvia for its successful 2018-2019 Presidency of the Council of the Baltic Sea States and for organising this meeting.