What kind of bug would make machine learning suddenly 40% worse at NetHack?

5000 points is pretty sad, probably 2000 of it is finding an elven dagger and naming it "Sting". And the rest is a lot of rats and goblins.

Looking at what happens on the full moon, I still don't get why the bot scored lower. Maybe a higher chance of being bitten by a wererat and dropping all your stuff? Or maybe it's because throwing tripe at attacking dogs works less often to tame them (Vs 100% normally).

edit: aha, I think this is it - attacked werecreatures are much more likely to summon help on full moons. Poor bot probably got overrun.

Last edited:
Upvote
80 (82 / -2)
Post content hidden for low score. Show…

mmorales

Ars Praetorian
Subscriptor
Oh this is great.

In the interest of sharing pain, ~25 years ago as a graduate student I coded up an unsupervised neural network. Now this was a time of lots of processor and OS diversity, I was a weird Mac person (OS X beta!) and coded it up on my PowerPC. On my Mac it learned fine, but on the department servers I had very hit or miss luck. It would never crash, just on some machines it would learn and some it wouldn't, depending on some combination of compiler settings and chips. I eventually had the following pattern:

• PowerPC would always learn
  • Intel x86 would never learn
  • Sun Sparc would never learn
  • SGI IRIX MIPS would learn, but only at optimization -O2. Lower or higher optimization it wouldn't learn.

It took my advisor 10 minutes to figure out what was going on (I thought he was psychic). Down in a key part of the code I had e^a times e^b, and it turned out 'a' became large when 'b' became small, and the learning was in the last few bits of precision in the double.