



The Week Ahead 15 – 21 July 2024

The newly elected European Parliament will hold its constitutive session from 16 to 19 July in Strasbourg.

Constitution of the new Parliament and election of the President. The first session of the new Parliament will be opened on Tuesday at 10.00. Parliament's first act after its constitution is to elect its President for the next two-and-a-half years (half the legislature). Eight MEPs will be selected as tellers to oversee the election, scheduled on Tuesday shortly after 10.00 and held by secret paper ballot. To be elected, a candidate must win an absolute majority of the valid votes cast, i.e. 50% plus one.

Election of Vice-Presidents and Quaestors. After the election of the President, MEPs will elect the rest of the members of Parliament's Bureau: 14 Vice-Presidents and five Quaestors. (Tuesday, Wednesday)

Forming Parliament's committees and delegations. Parliament will vote on the numerical composition of its standing committees and subcommittees as well as its interparliamentary delegations on Wednesday. Committee nominations will be decided by the political groups and announced in plenary on Friday. The committees will convene the following week for their constitutive meetings to elect their Chairs and Vice-Chairs.

Election of the European Commission President. On Thursday at 13.00, Parliament will decide whether to endorse Ursula von der Leyen for the Presidency of the European Commission. At 09.00, she will address Parliament's plenary and outline her vision and plans for the next five years, followed by a debate with MEPs. The vote by secret paper ballot will take place after the debate. To be elected, she needs an absolute majority (50% plus one) of Parliament's component members.

Russia's war against Ukraine. On Wednesday morning, political group leaders will make statements on the need for the EU's continuous support for Ukraine, followed by a vote on a resolution at 17.00.

President's Diary. On Monday, EP President Metsola participates in the EU Flag-Raising Ceremony.

Pre-session press briefing. The EP Press Service will hold a press briefing at 9.00 on Tuesday in the Daphne Caruana Galizia press conference room in Strasbourg.



Press Service, Directorate General for Communication European Parliament - Spokesperson: Jaume Duch Guillot Press switchboard number (32-2) 28 33000



Useful contacts for journalists covering the European Parliament's activities.

ΕN

Press Service, Directorate General for Communication European Parliament - Spokesperson: Jaume Duch Guillot Press switchboard number (32-2) 28 33000

2|6

Agenda

PLENARY SESSION

Tuesday 16 July 2024

10:00 - 12:30 **Debates** Opening of the sitting

Election of the President of Parliament

12:30 - 14:00 **Debates** Election of the President of Parliament

OR

Election of the Vice-Presidents of Parliament

15:00 - 23:00 **Debates** Election of the President of Parliament

OR

Election of the Vice-Presidents of Parliament

Election of the President of Parliament

OR

Election of the Vice-Presidents of Parliament

Election of the Vice-Presidents of Parliament

Election of the Vice-Presidents of Parliament

Wednesday 17 July 2024

09:00 - 10:00 Debates

Order of business

The need for the EU's continuous support for Ukraine

EN

Press Service, Directorate General for Communication European Parliament - Spokesperson: Jaume Duch Guillot Press switchboard number (32-2) 28 33000

Agenda

[2024/2721(RSP)]

10:00 - 10:30 **Debates** Election of the Quaestors of Parliament

Election of the Quaestors of Parliament

Election of the Quaestors of Parliament

12:30 - 13:30 VOTES followed by explanations of votes

Numerical strength of standing committees [2024/2716(RSO)]

Number and numerical strength of interparliamentary delegations [2024/2717(RSO)]

The need for the EU's continuous support for Ukraine [2024/2721(RSP)]

13:30 - 22:00 (Possibly) Debates (or at the end of the votes) Thursday 18 July 2024

09:00 - 11:00 **KEY DEBATE**

Statement by the candidate for President of the Commission

13:00 - 15:00 Debates

Election of the President of the Commission [2024/2011(INS)]

15:00 - 22:00 (Possibly) Debates Friday 19 July 2024

09:00 - 12:00 (Possibly) Debates

Announcement of the appointments to committees

FN

Agenda

THE PRESIDENT'S DIARY

The President's diary

Monday 15 July 2024

Strasbourg, France

17:30 President Metsola participates in the EU Flag-Raising Ceremony

18:00 President Metsola presides over the Medal Award Ceremony for Outgoing Members of the 9th legislative term of the European Parliament

19:30 President Metsola presides over the European Parliament's Bureau

The President's diary

Tuesday 16 July 2024

European Parliament's plenary session in Strasbourg

European Parliament's constitutive plenary session

16:30 President Metsola meets the President-elect of the European Council, António Costa

The President's diary

Wednesday 17 July 2024

European Parliament's plenary session in Strasbourg

17:00 President Metsola presides over the Conference of Presidents meeting

18:00 President Metsola presides over the European Parliament's Bureau

The President's diary

Thursday 18 July 2024

European Parliament's plenary session in Strasbourg

The President's diary

Friday 19 July 2024

European Parliament's plenary session in Strasbourg

FN



PRESS CONFERENCES

Antoni COMÍN I OLIVERES (NI, ES) on his seat as MEP

Monday 15 July 2024 18:00-18:30 Strasbourg, Louise Weiss, WEISS N-1/201

Last minute session briefing

Tuesday 16 July 2024 09:00-09:30 Strasbourg, Louise Weiss, WEISS N-1/201

Briefing The Left

Tuesday 16 July 2024 09:30-10:00 Strasbourg, Louise Weiss, N-1/201 **Manon AUBRY** (The Left,FR) and **Martin SCHIRDEWAN** (The Left,DE), Co-Presidents

Roberta Metsola, new President of the European Parliament

Tuesday 16 July 2024 12:45-13:15 Strasbourg, Louise Weiss, N-1/201

50 years since the Turkish invasion of Cyprus in 1974: Reflections on half a century of occupation and the struggle for justice

Wednesday 17 July 2024 14:00-14:30 Strasbourg, Louise Weiss, N-1/201

Nicola PROACCINI (ECR, IT), Co-President of the ECR Group, Geadis GEADI (ECR, CY), Emmanouil FRAGKOS (ECR, GR)

Presidents Ursula von der Leyen and Roberta Metsola

Thursday 18 July 2024 14:30-15:00 Strasbourg, Louise Weiss, N-1.2